Shields graduates, sports awards winners listed

Jean Skillman — Shields Valley Correspondent
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Article Image Alt Text

Photo by Jean Skillman

Shields Valley High School graduates, from left, Tanner Lykins and Bill Heath greet School Secretary Anita Crane following graduation Sunday in Clyde Park.

Shields Valley High School students who graduated Sunday in Clyde Park were Juslin Bailey, Joseph Bennett, Adam Chapdelaine, Molly Engle, William “Bill” Heath, Jenna Henson, Rodie Keyes, Tanner Lykins and Jack Marshall. 

Molly Engle was the valedictorian and Joseph Bennett was the salutatorian.

Shields Valley eighth graders graduating Sunday in Clyde Park were Riley Croston, Dutch Ennis, Jaeli Jenkins, Blaine Mills, Jaime Tucker, Tyler DeFord, Andie Estes, Kade Lannen, Autumn Peavy and Hunter Willis.


Sports awards

Basketball and track awards were given May 14 at the Shields Valley Athletic Awards Banquet in Clyde Park.

Girls winning the All State Awards in basketball were Molly Engle, Rane Sager, Perry Dominick, Haven Sager, Morgan Fairchild and Aspen Sanderson. Molly  Engle was named to the All Conference first team and the All State first team and Morgan Fairchild and Aspen Sanderson to All Conference second team. The Offensive and Defensive Awards were given to Molly  Engle. The Most Improved Award went to Brooklin Baukol and the Coaches Choice Award to Rane Sager.

 Boys winning Academic All State awards are Cole and Dylan Flatt, Joseph Bennett, Milan Moscone and Aidan Jenkins. Milan Moscone was named to the All Conference second team. The boys Offensive Award went to Milan Moscone, the boys Defensive  Award to Dylan Flatt and the Most Improved Award to Wyatt Rooney. The Coach’s Choice went to Aidan Jenkins.

Rodie Keyes, Tori Johnson, Brooklin Baukol and Rylee Fisher were awarded a letters on the rodeo team. 

The Coach’s Choice  Awards for track went to Zach Danielson and Brooklin Baukol. The top performers in track are Morgan Fairchild, Haven Sager and Milan Moscone. At the District Track Meet 15 of the 18 track members qualified for Divisional Track Meet. 

The annual Weenie of the Year Award in track has been given since 1986 and this year’s winners was Jules Croston. Jim Rose and Bill Sager, retired coaches who started the Weenie of the Year Award, were in attendance at the banquet to give retiring teacher and coach Alan Peterson the “Weenie of the Decades” Award. Peterson has been with Shields Valley Schools 28 years, coaching high school track 20 years and junior high track 16 years.

Shields Valley triple letter awards winners for participating in three sports are Rane Sager, Emmett Gilbert, Milan Moscone, Perry Dominick, Morgan Fairchild and Haven Sager.  

Athlete of the Year Awards went to Milan Moscone.



The Clyde Park Community Scholarship has received Memorials for the following:

For Leon Sarrazin from his family;

For Harold Myrstol;

For DW Richardson from Betty Fitzpatrick; and 

For Tom and Betty Hunter from their children.

Donations were given to the scholarship fund by the Class of 2018 and Shields Valley Teachers-Blue Jean Friday.


Church news

 Russ Smyth, with Anchored International: a Disciple Making Ministry, of Coeur d’Alene, Idaho, will be the guest speaker at the l0:45 morning worship service Sunday, May 26, at the Wilsall Community Church.


Club news

 • The Wilsall Vets Club and Auxiliary will be looking for help to put up the flags at the Wilsall Cemetery for Memorial Day weekend at 8 a.m. Friday, May 24, and at noon Tuesday, May 28, to take they down. Anyone wishing to help may show up at the cemetery at those times and go to work. After the flags are put up on Friday workers are invited to the Old Wilsall Hardware Deli, also known as Val’s, for cinnamon rolls.

• The Brackett Creek Women’s Club met May 15 at the home of Judy Watson with eight members and two guests present. The guests were Barbara Jones, Doe Stafford’s sister from North Port, Florida, and Robin, a neighbor’s dog sitter from California. Card fronts and canceled stamps were turned in and dues collected. Members and guests introduced themselves around the group. A community bulletin board and Brackett Creek Road trash pickup was discussed. The midsummer potluck get-together will be July 20 at noon at the home of D’Neal Parker. They talked about having a gardening afternoon sometime during the summer. The Sept. 18 meeting will be at the home of Sonja Loeser. Refreshments were served and Sally Taylor won the small bouquet door prize. Amy Hofacker, a retired kindergarten teacher, brought string and yarn and taught the ladies how to make yarn tassels.



The Clyde Park Bridge Club met May 15 at Clyde Park Tavern and Cafe. with Ken DeBoer as hostess. Prize winners were Sharon Jones, high; and  Joyce Sarrazin, bingo.

Winners of the May 21 Senior Citizens card party were Jean Landers, first; Marie Smith, second; Betty Burdette, low;  and Jean Skillman, traveling.


School schedule

• May 24: The last day of school will have and early, noon, release time.

• May 24-25: The State Track Meet is in Laurel.