National Honor Society members inducted Tuesday at Park High

Enterprise Staff

Park High School’s National Honor Society welcomed new members to the organization during its annual induction ceremony at 7 p.m. Tuesday in the Park High School RecPlex.

The ceremony kicked off with the Pledge of Allegiance and an introduction of the current membership. In all, 26 new members waited for enrollment. The National Honor Society, or NHS, consisted of nine existing members, four of whom were inducted Tuesday.

Park High School Principal Lynne Scalia introduced guest speaker Suzie Lalich, director of human resources at Printing for Less. Lalich talked about her time in high school and the activities she participated in such as basketball, volleyball and cheerleading.

“I was better at cheering on people who were more talented at the sports than I was playing them,” she said.

Lalich described the advances she took throughout her career, advising the students to confront their fears.

“I’m still afraid of snakes, though.” she joked.

The event included a candle-lighting ceremony, with NHS President Larissa Saarel listing the criteria. She mentioned the four pillars used to select members: scholarship, leadership, service and character.

Current members Emily Kokot lit the candle representing scholarship, Hope Angelica Emmanuel Grey lit the candle representing leadership, Ellie Mickelson service and Isabel Davis character.

Saarel led the new members in the Honor Society Pledge followed by NHS advisor Becky Ayler closing the ceremony.

Refreshments donated by Park High Boosters followed the ceremony.

Current members include: Aleah Peterson, Ellie Mickelson, Emily Kokot, Hope Angelica Emmanuel Grey, Isabel Davis, Larissa Saarel , Lindsey Lee, Reagan Smith, and Taylor Walker.

New Members include Danielle Babcox, Brooklyn Behm, Zoe Bishop, Aurora Boise, Sophia Cajune, Lily DeYoung, Brayden Duncan, Kennedy Hader, Bray Holmes, Clara Jones, Zoe Kokot, Kaylyn Kuehn, Eva Molina, Peyton Murphy, Matt Nettley, Jonathan Noble, Sidni Payne, Zander Petrich, Conor Pierson, Maia Reddington, Morgan Rosberg, Isabel Sexton, Sophie Taylor, Alexis Tinsl